Baguette and Foie

20130215-112317.jpg

Yannick, this one’s for you–

Nothing, and I mean nothing, beats a real baguette–I’d say French, but the Belgians and Swiss are pretty damn good at making them, too–crispy and flaky on the outside, golden, fleecy and soft on the inside, elastic and supple, light.

Especially one ceded to me by an old man, clearly a local, who, about to walk out of Vallorcine’s only grocery store, notices that I am baguette-less and buys me this loaf, for bread is life, here, and going out baguette-less would mean I am ill equipped for my day.

Mmmmmm.

And–Yannick, this is definitely not for you–nothing pairs more perfectly with a baguette than meat from la region, a mousse de foie, liver, and together, it’s pure bliss.

20130215-112323.jpg

This entry was published on January 17, 2013 at 09:40. It’s filed under France and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Baguette and Foie

  1. Nina Reed on said:

    Oh how I wish they would sell mousse de foie (or “leverpostei”) in the US as well – it’s pretty much my favorite thing to put on any kind of bread 🙂

Leave a Reply

