Christmas Lunch, Again

20130204-142525.jpg

Today, we celebrate Christmas again, this time, with the de Kerchove d’Ousselghem side of the family.

It’s no wonder my mother legally changed her name to Van Doosselaere, which, I learn, is common practice in the USA but not necessarily in Belgium, where one keeps the name one was given at birth legally, perhaps taking a married name for social reasons. Perhaps, just maybe, my aversion to parting from my own extra-long surname is culturally programmed.

Maybe.

But, I digress.

Today, my grandfather and his lady friend Francine graciously host us for another divine lunch of gluttonous proportion–magret de canard–and I wish my dad and I’s foray into the woods had lasted more than ten minute’s worth of exercise.

It’s absolutely pleasant, this at home dining experience, and I promise my Bonpapa to return next week for more, as in his older age, he’s becoming increasingly more precious.

20130204-142531.jpg

20130204-142536.jpg

This entry was published on December 27, 2012 at 06:25. It’s filed under Belgium, Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Christmas Lunch, Again

  1. I never much liked the magret de canard that Jeremy would bring from France to America in a can but when we moved to Switzerland and he began making it from scratch I fell in love with it. Now we always have a jar of duck fat stored in our fridge and we make delicious rosemary potatoes with it.

Leave a Reply

